All for Joomla All for Webmasters

About Us

About ADA

The Adaptation Consortium is a Consortium of partners led by the National Drought Management Authority (NDMA) to support county governments mainstream climate change into development and planning through the County Climate Change Fund Mechanism.

We work with the National Treasury, Climate Change Directorate (CCD), National Environment Management Authority (NEMA), Ministry of Devolution and ASALs and the Council of Governors (CoG) to align our work with national policies and processes and also to upscale the approach nationally. The Kenya Meteorological Department leads on improving access, dissemination and use of climate information through the development of Climate Information Services (CIS) plans.

The CCCF mechanism put communities in charge of their resilience by allowing them to prioritise public good investments that build their resilience to climate change. The mechanism is primarily geared towards addressing climate change adaptation priorities, building community resilience and fostering sustainable economic growth.

The CCCF mechanism piloted successfully in five counties of Isiolo, Garissa, Kitui, Makueni is currently being scaled-out to Kisumu, Vihiga, Nandi, Bomet, Kisii, Kakamega, Narok and Siaya.

The Consortium is funded by the Sweden Embassy - Nairobi, UKaid, and the World Bank. Others include:-

National Drought Management Authority

Kenya Meteorological Department (KMD)

International Institute for Environment and Development

Christian Aid

Merti Integrated Development Programme (MID-P)

Arid Lands Development Focus (ALDEF)

WomanKind Kenya

Anglican Development Services – Eastern (ADS-E)

Anglican Development Services – Western (ADS-W)

Community Rehabilitation and Environmental Protection Programme – CREP

LifeSkills Promoters – LISP


The CCCF mechanism comprises of four interrelated components:-